I was reading the man page for
rm when I came across this option:
-P Overwrite regular files before deleting them. Files are overwritten three times, first with the byte pattern 0xff, then 0x00, and then 0xff again, before they are deleted.
-P is meant for thoroughly deleting a file, but wouldn't setting all the bytes to
0x00 be enough? Why does it have to toggle between the two three times?